Introduction

fore•bod•ing |fôrˈbōdi NG| |fɔrˈboʊdɪŋ| |fɔːˈbəʊdɪŋ|
noun
apprehension, anxiety, trepidation, disquiet, unease, uneasiness, misgiving, suspicion, worry, fear, fearfulness, dread, alarm. 

four |fôr|
cardinal number
equivalent to the product of two and two

Ever since I first created a blog a couple of years ago, I’ve been trying to think of something worth writing about that would be of interest to anyone other than (or possibly even including) myself.

Last Thursday, 14 August 2008, I received perhaps the most shocking news of my life: my wife is pregnant with twins. Nothing especially out of the ordinary there, I grant you. But the trouble is, we already have two wonderful sons, and we were just starting to get our lives back after almost five years of bringing up babies. The fact that in five or six months time, we will be the parents of four children under the age of six fills me with dread, trepidation, panic, and perhaps just a small tinge of excitement.

The past week has been a blur of emotion. It’s now day six and I’ve just started to regain the ability to gather my thoughts in a semi-rational manner. There I was earlier this evening, sitting in a traffic jam on the North Circular, pondering on loft conversions, MPVs and double buggies, and then it dawned on me. At last, I have something worth blogging about.

So welcome to Fourboding, a blog about what it’s like for somebody who never in his life imagined he would have more than two children, to suddenly find out he’s about to be the father of four.

Over the coming months I hope to document the emotional rollercoaster of a twin pregnancy from a husband’s perspective, and keep a record of the myriad challenges we face in trying to prepare for the arrival of two new members of our family. If all goes well and I’m still alive, I also hope this blog will follow the first few weeks, months or even years of their lives, as we learn how to cope with our panoply of children, and they with us.

 

The twins at 12 weeks
The twins at 12 weeks
3 thoughts on “Introduction”

  1. As mummy of aforementioned twins, I will just be grateful when I stop feeling sick constantly thanks to our double bundle of joy. Funny thing is I was listening to the radio about childfree women (the polar opposite of mega mum here) this morning and I wasn’t sure if I felt more envious of or sorry for those women who don’t have to pass every day in a blur of yoghurts, screams for mummy and wiping up unmentionable slops and stains….

  2. I’d buy yourselves a good pair of earplugs in readiness for the new arrivals – WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!

    Mazeltov and good luck – I think you’ll be very happy with your double whammy once you get over the shock!

    Louise x

Leave a Reply

