Power Rangers P.S.

What I forgot to mention in my Power Rangers post the other day is what a disappointment this whole Power Rangers thing is to this child of the 1980s. I thought I had done so well when it came to educating them about fantasy action heroes. You can’t imagine the pride I felt as my 2-year-old and 4-year-old sons recited the entire scripts of Star Wars, The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi back to back. Or the tears of joy that run down my face every time I hear Max sitting in the back of the car humming the Indiana Jones theme tune.

But no. Now, given the choice between the magnificent creations of George Lucas (and no, this is neither the time nor the place to mention either Phantom Menaces or Crystal Skulls) and Operation Overdrive, you can guess which one my boys pick every time. It’s truly heartbreaking. I can only hope that Thing 3 and Thing 4 (now there’s an excuse to go back to Florida, just to get the t-shirts) have more taste.

 

Jacob & Max in their Dr Seuss-inspired t-shirts
Jacob & Max in their Dr Seuss-inspired t-shirts
One thought on “Power Rangers P.S.”

  1. Oh do I feel your pain. Thankfully, we bailed before Operation Overdrive but Mystic Force made me want to slit. my. wrists. We seem to have similar parenting styles (i recently overheard the six year old wishing on a star for his own jawas to play with.Yeah, i teared up) but I gotta tell you, we stopped after two boys. Once they outnumber you….well….you know of what I speak. Anyway, Im bookmarking you now.

Leave a Reply

