Thanks for taking the time to speak to me. Will you just shut up and leave me alone.

Well that was fun. Knowing that I’ve got some pretty important correspondence and phone conversations to deal with at the moment, the first thing I said when we got in from the school run was “Daddy’s got some work to do. I’m going into my office. I don’t want to be disturbed”.

You can probably guess the rest, but I’ll illustrate anyway. I was in the middle of typing an email to my insolvency practitioner when I heard a knocking at the door, accompanied by a loud whispering. Apparently in twin 1’s mind, talking quietly is as close as dammit to not disturbing someone. I often wonder about him, I really do. Apparently the thing that was so important that it couldn’t wait was that he needed a pencil with which to do his spellings. And of course my office is the only room in the house with any pencils.

Five minutes later, I was on the phone to a solicitor regarding complicated insolvency matters. While putting on my most business-like voice and trying my hardest to sound like I knew what I was talking about, I couldn’t concentrate at all on what the nice lady on the other end of the phone was saying. Because all I could hear was three voices screaming at each other. I’m not quite sure what about but I definitely heard snippets of “I told you to do it in pencil not pen” and “stopping touching me”.

While typing this blog post, I have been interrupted twice. Once to ask if TV watching was permitted (to which the answer was only if your homework is finished and your bedroom is tidy), and once again five minutes later to ask for a bedroom inspection, oh and by the way, can we have chocolate. Part of the problem is the plain glass-paned door that serves as the barrier between the office and the rest of the house, so while they may not be directly in the room, they may as well be for all the privacy and quiet you get while you’re in it. Our builder has an awful lot to answer for – he put up that door without even asking for our approval. Damn you Ismaili.

Did I say twice? It’s now three times. The latest is to complain that son number two’s phone isn’t working properly and do I mind if he restarts the router. Yes of course I bloody mind! Grrr….

IMG_1898

 

1 thought on “Thanks for taking the time to speak to me. Will you just shut up and leave me alone.”

  1. Ha ha ha, welcome to the world working from home mums know only too well. At least you didn’t have to have your conversations whilst changing a very dirty nappy!

Leave a Reply

